Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Kardiologie
Société Suisse de Cardiologie
Società Svizzera di Cardiologia

Otto Hess Trainee Award der SGK

The cardiologist Otto Martin Hess (13 July 1946 – 11 April 2011) combined in an exemplary way devoted patient care, inspiring teaching, and outstanding research. After graduation from Medical School in Zurich and postgraduate training in Zurich and San Diego, Otto Hess pursued his academic career first at the University Hospital of Zurich, later at the University Hospital of Bern. In the final years he acted as Head of the Cardiovascular Department of the University Hospital of Bern. He was president of the Swiss Society of Cardiology and co- founder of the Working Groups Cardiovascular Biology and Heart Failure.

Since his first years of postgraduate training in cardiology Otto Hess had been continuously active and highly successful in cardiovascular research. His main areas of research interest included myocardial function, valvular heart disease, coronary circulation, magnetic resonance imaging, and in-stent restenosis. A particular attribute of Otto Martin Hess’s research activity was the strong commitment to motivation and support of young trainees in the early stages of their research career.


The Otto Hess Trainee award is designed to recognize and support young trainees in cardiology who are actively engaged in cardiovascular research at an early stage of their careers.


Each year up to 3 trainees will be awarded a grant of 5000 CHF to be used for expenses related to their personal research activity. This may include equipment or disposables for research projects but also expenses for presentations of results at a scientific meeting or congress, for training visits in another research institution, or for participation in postgraduate courses in the field of research interests. The awardee must use the grant within 2 years. A person can receive this award only once.


Announcement 2021

Rules and regulations

Application Form

Liste der bisherigen Preisträger / Lauréats du prix

Name Preisträger
2020 Dr. med. Dominik Benz, Zürich
2019 Dr. med. Jeanne Du Fay de Lavallaz, Basel
2019 Dr. med. Desirée Wussler, Basel
2018 Dr. med. Patrick Badertscher, Basel
2018 Dr. med. Stéphane Fournier, Lausanne
2018 Dr. med. Thomas Nestelberger, Basel
2018 Dr. med. Christian Puelacher, Basel
2017 Dr. med. Panagiotis Antiochos, Lausanne
2017 Dr. med. Nicolas Johner, Genève
2016 Dr. med. Jasper Boeddinghaus, Universitätsspital Basel
2016 Dr. med. Georgios Siontis, Inselspital Bern
2016 Dr. med. Raphael Twerenbold, Universitätsspital Basel
2015 Dr. med. Baris Gencer, Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève
2015 Dr. med. Andreas Häberlin, Inselspital Bern
2015 Dr. med. Dr. sc. nat. Stephan Winnik, UniversitätsSpital Zürich
2014 Dr. med. Walter E. Holy, UniversitätsSpital Zürich
2014 Dr. med. Maria Rubini Gimenez, Universitätsspital Basel
2014 Dr. med. Ardan M. Saguner, UniversitätsSpital Zürich